Info Source

Sources of Federal Government and Employee Information

Canada Development Investment Corporation

Table of Contents

General Information

Institutional Functions, Programs and Activities

Additional Information

General Information

Introduction to Info Source

Info Source: Sources of Federal Government and Employee Information provides information about the functions, programs, activities and related information holdings of government institutions subject to the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act. It provides individuals and employees of the government (current and former) with relevant information to access personal information about themselves held by government institutions subject to the Privacy Act and to exercise their rights under the Privacy Act.

The Introduction and an index of institutions subject to the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act are available centrally.

The Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act assign overall responsibility to the President of Treasury Board (as the designated Minister) for the government-wide administration of the legislation.

Background

Canada Development Investment Corporation (“CDEV”) is a Crown Corporation named in Part II of Schedule III of the Financial Administration Act. CDEV reports to Parliament through the Minister of Finance, and is managed by its Board of Directors who provide advice to the Minister as required. CDEV is not subject to the provisions of the Income Tax Act.

The Corporation was established in 1982 under the Canada Business Corporations Act, to manage Crown Corporations and investments assigned to it and to privatize its holdings when appropriate.

Canada Development Investment Corporation no longer uses the acronym ‘CDIC’ and will henceforth be abbreviated as ‘CDEV’. Some historic documents and text may still refer to ‘CDIC’.

Responsibilities

In November 2007, the Minister of Finance wrote the Chairman and indicated that the operations of CDEV should reflect a future focused on the ongoing management of its current holdings in a commercial manner; providing assistance to the government in new directions suited to CDEV's capabilities; while maintaining the capacity to divest CDEV's existing holdings, and any other government interests assigned to it for divestiture, upon the direction of the Minister of Finance.

CDEV is a holding company that presently has the following wholly-owned subsidiaries for which it has responsibility:

  • Canada Eldor Inc. (“CEI”) which has no operations, but has responsibility for servicing liabilities, chiefly arising from an agreement of purchase and sale with Cameco Inc. entered into in 1988.
  • Canada GEN Investment Corporation (“GEN”)  which owns the business interests of the Crown in General Motors Company (“GM”), and
  • Canada Hibernia Holding Corporation (“CHHC”) which owns an 8.5% interest in the original Hibernia project and interests in other Hibernia-related developments.

In August 2009 the Minister of Finance requested CDEV to participate in the Government's on-going review of corporate asset holdings. The Corporate Asset Management Review (CAMR) process is continuing and we will maintain the management capability to provide service to assist the Minister in whatever role he deems fit.

In July 2011, CDEV sold the entirety of its interest in Chrysler to Fiat S.p.A.

In late 2012 it was announced that CDEV will act as the government’s agent in the sale of Ridley Terminals Inc. (“RTI”), a federal Crown corporation located in British Columbia. In mid-2013 it was announced that CDEV would act as the government’s agent to sell a portion of the Dominion Coal Blocks (“DCB”) in British Columbia.

Institutional Functions, Programs and Activities

CORPORATE ASSET MANAGEMENT REVIEW / DIVESTITURES

We continue to undertake responsibility for those components of CAMR assigned to us by the Department of Finance. The actions we undertake include identifying suitable consulting firms given project mandates, developing statements of work and requests for proposals for projects, evaluating RFP proposals, hiring consultants, and managing the review project. We remain staffed to undertake these roles and we also hire contractors with specific skills and experience to augment our capabilities.

For the current or any future mandate to act as agent in the sale of a corporate asset of the Government, we identify and hire required financial and other advisors to evaluate the asset, provide advice to the Government on the possibilities and requirements to undertake a sale, manage a sales process as required, and help facilitate the execution of a potential sale.

Divestitures

Description: Assets sold on behalf of the Crown by CDEV since inception include Canadair Limited; The de Havilland Aircraft of Canada, Limited; Teleglobe Canada; Fishery Products International Limited; Canada Development Corporation; Nordion International Inc; Varity Corporation; Telesat Canada; Cameco Corporation; Co-enerco Resources Ltd; Ginn Publishing Canada Inc; Theratronics International Limited; Canada CH Investment Corporation.

Document Types: Records include annual reports; agreements; corporate plans and summaries; environmental audits; correspondence; financial records; legal documents; minutes of meetings.

Record Number: CDEVDIV 300

ASSET MANAGEMENT

CDEV has historically been used as a means of ensuring that the Government’s interests that are assigned to it have been managed with a commercial focus. To date, we have managed and sold some fifteen companies for the Government with total proceeds exceeding $3 billion. We continue to manage Canada’s interest in the Hibernia oil field, the preferred and common shares in General Motors and liabilities of Canada Eldor Inc.

CDEV is managed by a staff based in Toronto, headed by the Executive Vice-President, who work closely with consultants, legal counsel, the Board and management of its subsidiaries to ensure the effective functioning of the Corporation and all subsidiaries. CHHC has separate management based in Calgary. In order to manage the investments in GM, additional expert advisory consultants have been hired.

Canada Eldor Inc.

In 2012, CEI completed a settlement with Cameco Corporation with respect to previous historic waste obligations. CEI continues to pay for costs relating to the decommissioning of a former mine site and for retiree benefits of certain former employees.

Canada GEN Investment Corporation

On September 10, 2013 Canada GEN sold 30 million common shares of General Motors (a Delaware U.S.A. corporation) that it held.  GEN holds approximately 7% of the outstanding common shares of GM and US $422 million of GM Cumulative Series A Preferred Shares. GEN’s management and Board of Directors oversee the management of this investment.  We retain expert advisors to assist us in analysing the investment, evaluating relevant market conditions, and to address any other issues required to maintain our ability to monetize this investment.

Canada Hibernia Holding Corporation

Our holding in the Hibernia oil field, managed by our subsidiary the Canada Hibernia Holding Corporation (CHHC) will continue to be available for sale should the Government wish to divest of this asset. In the meantime we will participate actively in endeavouring to maximize the return on this asset.

INTERNAL SERVICES

Internal Services are groups of related activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of an organization. These groups are: Management and Oversight Services; Communications Services; Legal Services; Human Resources Management Services; Financial Management Services; Information Management Services; Information Technology Services; Real Property Services; Materiel Services; Acquisition Services; and Travel and Other Administrative Services. Internal Services include only those activities and resources that apply across an organization and not to those provided specifically to a program.

ACQUISITIONS

Acquisition Services involve activities undertaken to acquire a good or service to fulfil a properly completed request (including a complete and accurate definition of requirements and certification that funds are available) until entering into or amending a contract.

FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT

Financial Management Services involve activities undertaken to ensure the prudent use of public resources, including planning, budgeting, accounting, reporting, control and oversight, analysis, decision support and advice, and financial systems.

HUMAN RESOURCES MANAGEMENT

Human Resources Management Services involve activities undertaken for determining strategic direction, allocating resources among services and processes, as well as activities relating to analyzing exposure to risk and determining appropriate countermeasures. They ensure that the service operations and programs of the federal government comply with applicable laws, regulations, policies, and/or plans.

INFORMATION MANAGEMENT

Information Management Services involve activities undertaken to achieve efficient and effective information management to support program and service delivery; foster informed decision making; facilitate accountability, transparency, and collaboration; and preserve and ensure access to information and records for the benefit of present and future generations.

INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

Information Technology Services involve activities undertaken to achieve efficient and effective use of information technology to support government priorities and program delivery, to increase productivity, and to enhance services to the public.

LEGAL SERVICES

Legal Services involve activities undertaken to enable government departments and agencies to pursue policy, program and service delivery priorities and objectives within a legally sound framework.

·  Legal Services

MANAGEMENT AND OVERSIGHT SERVICES

Management and Oversight Services involve activities undertaken for determining strategic direction, and allocating resources among services and processes, as well as those activities related to analyzing exposure to risk and determining appropriate countermeasures. They ensure that the service operations and programs of the federal government comply with applicable laws, regulations, policies, and/or plans.

TRAVEL AND OTHER ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

Travel and Other Administrative Services include Government of Canada (GC) travel services, as well as those other internal services that do not smoothly fit with any of the internal services categories.

Classes of Personal Information

In the course of conducting the activities of the Corporation, personal information may be accumulated which is not contained in the specific information banks described in this entry. This information exists in a fragmented form throughout the subject files of the Corporation. This information is stored as part of the general subject files. This form of information is retrievable only if specifics are provided concerning the subject matter, the related activity, as well as the date at which the information was received by the Corporation and to whom it was addressed.

The personal information contained in the subject files is retained for the same period of time as the related subject information and disposed of according to the appropriate record schedules.

Manuals

  • Canada Development Investment Corporation - Access to Information Act Administrative Policy and Procedures

Additional Information

Please see the Introduction to this publication for information on access procedures under the provisions of the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act.

Please note: Each request made to the Canada Development Investment Corporation under the Access to Information Act, must be accompanied by an application fee of $5.00, cheque or money order made payable to the Canada Development Investment Corporation.

For additional information about the programs and activities of the Canada Development Investment Corporation, please contact:

Access to Information and Privacy Coordinator
1240 Bay Street Suite 302
Toronto, Ontario M5R 2A7
Direct Line:  416-966-0650
Facsimile: 416-966-5485
Email: atip-aiprp@cdev.gc.ca
Internet http://www.cdiccei.ca/en/access_info.asp

Reading Room

In accordance with the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act, an area on the premises of this institution has been designated as a public reading room. The address is:

Canada Development Investment Corporation
1240 Bay Street Suite 302
Toronto, Ontario M5R 2A7

Info Source

Sources de renseignements du gouvernement fédéral et sur les fonctionnaires fédéraux

Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada

Table des matières

Renseignements généraux

Fonctions, programmes et activités de l'institution

Renseignements supplémentaires

Renseignements généraux

Présentation d'Info Source

Info Source : Sources de renseignements du gouvernement fédéral et sur les fonctionnaires fédéraux fournit de l'information au sujet des fonctions, des programmes, des activités et des fonds de renseignements connexes des institutions fédérales visées par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Il donne aux personnes et aux employés du gouvernement (actuels et anciens) des renseignements pertinents afin de leur donner accès aux renseignements personnels les concernant et qui sont détenus par les institutions fédérales visées par la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, et à les aider à exercer leurs droits en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Un accès central permet de consulter l'avant-propos d'Info Source : Sources de renseignements du gouvernement fédéral et sur les fonctionnaires fédéraux et la liste des institutions assujetties à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

La Loi sur l'accès à l'information et à Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels confèrent au président du Conseil du Trésor (à titre de ministre responsable) les responsabilités générales pour ce qui est de l'administration pangouvernementale de ces deux lois.

Historique

La Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada («CDEV») est une société d'État répertoriée à la Partie II de l'Annexe III de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques. Elle est tenue de présenter des rapports au Parlement par l'entremise du ministre des Finances et elle est dirigée par un conseil d'administration qui donne son avis au ministre, le cas échéant.  La CDEV n'est pas assujettie à la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu.

La CDEV a été fondée en 1982 par la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions afin de gérer les sociétés d'État et les investissements placés sous son autorité et de privatiser ses actifs, au besoin.

La Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada n’utilise plus l’acronyme « CDIC », et sera désormais abréviée « CDEV ». Certains documents historiques retiennent l’acronyme « CDIC ».

Responsabilités

En novembre 2007, le ministre des Finances a écrit au président de la CDEV lui mentionnant que les activités de la société devraient désormais être axées sur la gestion continue et de manière commerciale de ses avoirs actuels, qu'elle devrait également appuyer le gouvernement dans l'établissement de nouvelles orientations qui respectent la capacité de la CDEV tout en maintenant la capacité de cette dernière à se départir du reste de ses actifs et de toute autre participation financière gouvernementale désignée en vue de sa liquidation en vertu des directives émises par le ministre des Finances.

La CDEV est une société de portefeuille qui détient certaines filiales pour lesquelles elle est responsabler:

  • Canada Eldor Inc. (« CEI ») est une entreprise dépourvue d'activités mais chargée du règlement d'obligations financières, et qui résulte surtout d'un accord d'achat et de vente signé avec Cameco Inc. en 1988,
  • la Corporation d’investissement GEN du Canada (« GEN »), qui détient les intérêts commerciaux de l’État chez General Motors Company (« GM »), et
  • la Société de gestion Canada Hibernia (« SGCH ») détient 8,5 %  dans le projet Hibernia et ses projets de développement connexes.

En août 2009, le ministre des Finances a demandé à la CDEV de participer à l'examen permanent des actifs du gouvernement  Le programme d’examen de la gestion des biens de l’État se poursuit et la CDEV conservera sa capacité de gestion pour être en mesure d’assumer les rôles que lui confiera le ministre des Finances.

En juillet 2011, la CDEV a vendu la totalité de ses intérêts de Chrysler à Fiat S.p.A.

En fin d’année 2012, on a annoncé que la CDEV agira comme mandataire du gouvernement dans la vente de Ridley Terminals Inc. (« RTI »), une société d’état fédérale sise en Colombie Britannique. À la mi-2013, on a annoncé que la CDEV agirait comme mandataire du gouvernement pour la vente d’une partie de la Réserve fédérale de charbon (« RFC ») en Colombie-Britannique.

Fonctions, programmes et activités de l'institution

EXAMEN DE LA GESTION DES ACTIFS DU GOUVERNEMENT / DESSAISISSEMENTS

La CDEV continue d’entreprendre les éléments du  programme d’examen de la gestion des biens de l’État qui lui sont confiés par le ministère des Finances.  Au nombre des tâches entreprises dans ce contexte, la CDEV identifie des experts conseils selon les besoins des mandats et des projets, élabore des énoncés de travaux et des demandes d’offres de services pour des travaux précis, évalue les offres de service, et gère les projets d’examens. La CDEV a en place les effectifs pour ce faire et retient aussi les services d’experts spécialisés afin d’augmenter ses moyens.

Pour tout mandat existant ou à venir visant le rôle de la CDEV d’agir comme mandataire pour le dessaisissement d’un actif du gouvernement, celle-ci identifie et retient les services d’experts conseils financiers ou autres afin de procéder à une évaluation de l’actif, conseille le gouvernement sur le potentiel et les conditions inhérentes à une vente, gère le cas échéant les modalités d’une vente et aide à la conclusion d’une éventuelle transaction.

Cession des actifs

Description : Ensemble des actifs vendus par la CDEV depuis sa création pour le compte du gouvernement: Canadair Limitée; The de Havilland Aircraft of Canada Limited; Téléglobe Canada; Fishery Products International Limited; Corporation de développement du Canada; Nordion International Inc.; Varity Corporation; Télésat Canada; Cameco Corporation; Ressources Co-enerco Ltée; Ginn Publishing Canada Inc.; Theratronics International Limitée; Corporation d’investissement CH du Canada

Types de documents : Ces dossiers renferment divers documents: rapports annuels, ententes, plans directeurs et vues d'ensemble, vérifications environnementales, correspondance, documents financiers et juridiques, procès-verbaux.

Numéro du dossier : CDEV DIV 300

GESTION DE L’ACTIF

La CDEV a toujours eu pour rôle de veiller à ce que les intérêts du gouvernement dont elle a la garde soient gérés dans une perspective commerciale.  À ce jour, la CDEV a assuré la gestion et la vente d’une quinzaine de sociétés pour le compte du gouvernement, ce qui représente un produit total de plus de trois milliards de dollars. La CDEV gère toujours la participation du gouvernement du Canada dans le champ pétrolifère Hibernia, les actions privilégiées et ordinaires dans General Motors et les obligations d’Eldor Canada Inc.

À l’heure actuelle, la gestion de la CDEV est assurée par une équipe établie à Toronto et dirigée par le vice-président exécutif, qui travaille en étroite collaboration avec des conseillers, un avocat ainsi qu’avec les membres du conseil d’administration et ceux de la direction des filiales de la CDEV en vue d’assurer la bonne marche de la société et de ses filiales. La SGCH a une direction distincte installée à Calgary. D’autres experts-conseils ont également été embauchés pour gérer les investissements faits dans GM.

Canada Eldor Incorporated

En 2012, CEI a complété le règlement avec Cameco Corporation relativement aux obligations visant l’élimination de déchets accumulés.  CEI continue de payer les coûts futurs relatifs au déclassement de l’ancien site minier et les prestations de retraite de certains anciens employés.

Corporation d’investissement GEN du Canada

Le 10 septembre 2013, la Canada GEN a vendu 30 millions d’actions ordinaires de General Motors  (un Delaware U.S.A. corporation) qu’elle détenait.  GEN détient environ 7% des actions ordinaires de GM et des actions privilégiées de catégorie A à dividende cumulatif, d’une valeur de 422 millions de dollars américains.  Les cadres et le conseil d’administration de GEN surveillent la gestion de cet investissement.  La CDEV embauche des experts conseils externes afin de l’aider dans l’analyse de cet investissement, d’évaluer les conditions de marché et de l’aider avec tout autre enjeu relatif à la monétisation de cet investissement.

Société de gestion Canada Hibernia

Les avoirs de la CDEV dans le champ pétrolifère Hibernia, gérés par la Société de gestion Canada Hibernia (SGCH), filiale de la CDEV, resteront disponibles à la vente au cas où le gouvernement souhaiterait s’en dessaisir. Entre temps, la CDEV s’efforcera activement de maximiser le rendement de ces avoirs.

SERVICES INTERNES

Les services internes sont des groupes d'activités et de ressources connexes qui sont gérés de façon à répondre aux besoins des programmes et des autres obligations générales d'une organisation. Ces groupes sont les suivants : services de gestion et de surveillance, services des communications, services juridiques, services de gestion des ressources humaines, services de gestion des finances, services de gestion de l'information, services des technologies de l'information, services de gestion des biens, services de gestion du matériel, services de gestion des acquisitions et services de gestion des voyages et autres services administratifs. Les services internes comprennent uniquement les activités et les ressources destinées à l'ensemble d'une organisation et non celles fournies à un programme particulier.

ACQUISITIONS

Activités mises en ouvre dans de but de se procurer les biens et les services requis pour répondre à une demande dûment remplie (y compris une définition complète et précise des exigences et la garantie que les fonds sont disponibles), et ce, jusqu'à la passation ou à la modification d'un marché.

GESTION DES RESSOURCES HUMAINES

Activités de détermination de l'orientation stratégique, d'affectation des ressources entre les services et les processus et activités liées à l'analyse des risques et à la détermination des mesures d'atténuation à prendre. Elles permettent de veiller à ce que les services et les programmes du gouvernement fédéral respectent les lois, les règlements, les politiques et les plans applicables.

GESTION FINANCIERE

Activités visant à assurer l'utilisation responsable des ressources publiques comme la planification, la gestion budgétaire, la comptabilité, la production de rapports, le contrôle et la surveillance, l'analyse, les conseils et le soutien au processus décisionnel, ainsi que les systèmes financiers.

SERVICES DE GESTION DE L'INFORMATION

Activités visant à assurer une gestion efficiente et efficace de l'information à l'appui de la prestation de programme et de services, à faciliter la prise de décisions éclairées, à faciliter la reddition des comptes, la transparence et la collaboration, ainsi qu'à conserver l'information et les documents pour le bénéfice de la présente génération et des générations futures en veillant à ce qu'ils demeurent accessibles.

·  Gestion de l'information

SERVICES DE GESTION ET DE SURVEILLANCE

Activités de détermination de l'orientation stratégique, d'affectation des ressources entre les services et les processus et activités liées à l'analyse des risques et à la détermination des mesures d'atténuation à prendre. Elles permettent de veiller à ce que les services et les programmes du gouvernement fédéral respectent les lois, les règlements, les politiques et les plans qui s'appliquent.

SERVICES DE TECHNOLOGIE DE L'INFORMATION

Activités dont le but est d'assurer l'utilisation efficiente et efficace de la technologie de l'information, à l'appui des priorités gouvernementales et de la mise en ouvre des programmes afin d'accroître la productivité et d'améliorer les services offerts au public.

SERVICES DE VOYAGE ET AUTRES SERVICES ADMINISTRATIFS

Ces services comprennent les services de voyages du gouvernement du Canada, ainsi que les autres services internes qui ne correspondent à aucune autre catégorie de services internes.

SERVICES JURIDIQUES

Activités permettant aux ministères et organismes de réaliser les priorités et d'atteindre les objectifs associés à leurs politiques, programmes et services dans un cadre juridique approprié.

Catégories de renseignements personnels

Dans le cadre de ses activités, la Corporation peut être amenée à recueillir des renseignements personnels qui n'apparaissent pas dans les fichiers décrits sous la présente rubrique. Les renseignements de ce genre se trouvent épars dans les différentes catégories de fichiers de la Corporation. Ils font partie de fichiers de nature générale. Pour les extraire, il est nécessaire de fournir des précisions sur le domaine et l'activité auxquels ils renvoient, la date où ils ont été reçus par la Corporation ainsi que le nom du destinataire.

Les renseignements personnels contenus dans ces fichiers sont conservés aussi longtemps que les autres renseignements de même catégorie et détruits à la fin du calendrier applicable.

Manuels

  • Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada - Access to Information Act Administrative Policy and Procedures.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Les formalités d'accès fixées par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels sont expliquées dans l'introduction de cette publication.

À noter : Chaque demande présentée à la Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information doit être accompagnée d'un chèque ou d'un mandat-poste de 5 $ émis à l'ordre de la Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada, ses programmes et activités, veuillez communiquer avec la personne suivante:

Coordonnateur de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels.

1240, rue Bay, Bureau 302
Toronto (Ontario) M5R 2A7
Ligne directe: (416) 966-0650
Facsimile: (416) 966-5485
Courriel: atip-aiprp@cdev.gc.ca
Internet: http://www.cdiccei.ca/fr/access_info.asp

Salle de lecture

En vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, l'institution possède une salle de lecture publique pour la consultation des documents dans ses bureaux dont l'adresse est la suivante:

Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada
1240, rue Bay, Bureau 302, Toronto (Ontario) M5R 2A7