Info Source

Sources of Federal Government and Employee Information

Canada Eldor Inc.

Table of Contents

General Information

Institutional Functions, Programs and Activities

Additional Information

General Information

Introduction to Info Source

Info Source: Sources of Federal Government and Employee Information provides information about the functions, programs, activities and related information holdings of government institutions subject to the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act. It provides individuals and employees of the government (current and former) with relevant information to access personal information about themselves held by government institutions subject to the Privacy Act and to exercise their rights under the Privacy Act.

The Introduction and an index of institutions subject to the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act are available centrally.

The Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act assign overall responsibility to the President of Treasury Board (as the designated Minister) for the government-wide administration of the legislation.

Background

Canada Eldor Inc. (”CEI”) is incorporated under the Canada Business Corporations Act, and is a wholly-owned subsidiary of Canada Development Investment Corporation (“CDEV”). CEI is managed by its Board of Directors which through its parent company, CDEV, reports to Parliament through the Minister of Finance.

Responsibilities

The Corporation which has no operations is responsible for servicing liabilities, chiefly arising from an agreement of purchase and sale with Cameco entered into in 1988.

Institutional Functions, Programs and Activities

Institutional Activities

CEI continues to manage the liabilities resulting from past activities of Eldorado Nuclear, the assets of which were merged with Saskatchewan Mining and Development Corporation in 1988 to form Cameco Corporation.  In 2012, CEI completed a settlement with Cameco Corporation with respect to previous historic waste obligations.  CEI continues to pay for costs relating to the decommissioning of the former Beaverlodge mine site and for retiree benefits of certain former employees.

Divestitures

Description: Assets sold on behalf of the Crown in 1988.

Document Types: contracts, purchase and sale agreement between CEI and Cameco, financial records, legal documents

Record Number: CEI DIV 300

INTERNAL SERVICES

Internal Services are groups of related activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of an organization. These groups are: Management and Oversight Services; Communications Services; Legal Services; Human Resources Management Services; Financial Management Services; Information Management Services; Information Technology Services; Real Property Services; Materiel Services; Acquisition Services; and Travel and Other Administrative Services. Internal Services include only those activities and resources that apply across an organization and not to those provided specifically to a program.

ACQUISITIONS

Acquisition Services involve activities undertaken to acquire a good or service to fulfil a properly completed request (including a complete and accurate definition of requirements and certification that funds are available) until entering into or amending a contract.

FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT

Financial Management Services involve activities undertaken to ensure the prudent use of public resources, including planning, budgeting, accounting, reporting, control and oversight, analysis, decision support and advice, and financial systems.

INFORMATION MANAGEMENT

Information Management Services involve activities undertaken to achieve efficient and effective information management to support program and service delivery; foster informed decision making; facilitate accountability, transparency, and collaboration; and preserve and ensure access to information and records for the benefit of present and future generations.

INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

Information Technology Services involve activities undertaken to achieve efficient and effective use of information technology to support government priorities and program delivery, to increase productivity, and to enhance services to the public.

LEGAL SERVICES

Legal Services involve activities undertaken to enable government departments and agencies to pursue policy, program and service delivery priorities and objectives within a legally sound framework.

MANAGEMENT AND OVERSIGHT SERVICES

Management and Oversight Services involve activities undertaken for determining strategic direction, and allocating resources among services and processes, as well as those activities related to analyzing exposure to risk and determining appropriate countermeasures. They ensure that the service operations and programs of the federal government comply with applicable laws, regulations, policies, and/or plans.

TRAVEL AND OTHER ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

Travel and Other Administrative Services include Government of Canada (GC) travel services, as well as those other internal services that do not smoothly fit with any of the internal services categories.

Classes of Personal Information

In the course of conducting the activities of the Corporation, personal information may be accumulated which is not contained in the specific information banks described in this entry. This information exists in a fragmented form throughout the subject files of the Corporation. This information is stored as part of the general subject files. This form of information is retrievable only if specifics are provided concerning the subject matter, the related activity, as well as the date at which the information was received by the Corporation and to whom it was addressed.

The personal information contained in the subject files is retained for the same period of time as the related subject information and disposed of according to the appropriate record schedules.

Manuals

  • Canada Eldor Inc. - Access to Information Act Administrative Policy and Procedures

Additional Information

Please see the Introduction to this publication for information on access procedures under the provisions of the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act.

Please note:  Each request made to Canada Eldor Inc. under the Access to Information Act, must be accompanied by an application fee of $5.00,  cheque or money order made payable to Canada Eldor Inc.

For additional information about the programs and activities of Canada Eldor Inc., please contact:

Access to Information and Privacy Coordinator
1240 Bay Street Suite 302
Toronto, Ontario M5R 2A7
Direct Line:  416-966-0650
Facsimile: 416-966-5485
Email: atip-aiprp@cdev.gc.ca
Internet http://www.cdiccei.ca/en/access_info.asp

Reading Room

In accordance with the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act, an area on the premises of this institution has been designated as a public reading room. The address is:
Canada Eldor Inc.
1240 Bay Street Suite 302
Toronto, Ontario M5R 2A7

Info Source

Sources de renseignements du gouvernement fédéral et sur les fonctionnaires fédéraux

Canada Eldor Inc.

Table des matières

Renseignements généraux

Fonctions, programmes et activités de l'institution

Renseignements supplémentaires

Renseignements généraux

Présentation d'Info Source

Info Source : Sources de renseignements du gouvernement fédéral et sur les fonctionnaires fédéraux fournit de l'information au sujet des fonctions, des programmes, des activités et des fonds de renseignements connexes des institutions fédérales visées par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Il donne aux personnes et aux employés du gouvernement (actuels et anciens) des renseignements pertinents afin de leur donner accès aux renseignements personnels les concernant et qui sont détenus par les institutions fédérales visées par la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, et à les aider à exercer leurs droits en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Un accès central permet de consulter l'avant-propos d'Info Source : Sources de renseignements du gouvernement fédéral et sur les fonctionnaires fédéraux et la liste des institutions assujetties à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

La Loi sur l'accès à l'information et à Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels confèrent au président du Conseil du Trésor (à titre de ministre responsable) les responsabilités générales pour ce qui est de l'administration pangouvernementale de ces deux lois.

Historique

Canada Eldor Inc. (« CEI »)  est constituée en personne morale, en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions et elle constitue une filiale en propriété exclusive de la Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada (« CDEV »).   CEI est gérée par le Conseil d'administration qui, par l'intermédiaire de la compagnie mère, CDEV, rend compte au Parlement par l’entremise du ministre des Finances.

Responsabilités

La société, qui n'est pas en activité, est responsable de l'amortissement de la dette découlant d'une convention de rachat d'actions conclue en 1988 avec l'entreprise Cameco

Fonctions, programmes et activités de l'institution

Activités de l'institution

CEI continue de gérer les obligations découlant des activités antérieures d’Eldorado Nucléaire, dont les actifs ont été fusionnés à ceux de la Saskatchewan Mining and Development Corporation en 1988 pour former la Corporation Cameco.  En 2012, CEI a complété le règlement avec Cameco Corporation relativement aux obligations visant l’élimination de déchets accumulés.  CEI continue de payer les coûts futurs relatifs au déclassement de l’ancien site minier Beaverlodge et les prestations de retraite de certains anciens employés.

Dessaisissements

Description: Actifs vendus pour le compte du gouvernement en 1988

Types de documents : contrats, accord d’achat et de vente conclu entre CEI et Cameco, documents financiers, documentes juridiques

Numéro du dossier : CEI DIV 300

SERVICES INTERNES

Les services internes sont des groupes d'activités et de ressources connexes qui sont gérés de façon à répondre aux besoins des programmes et des autres obligations générales d'une organisation. Ces groupes sont les suivants : services de gestion et de surveillance, services des communications, services juridiques, services de gestion des ressources humaines, services de gestion des finances, services de gestion de l'information, services des technologies de l'information, services de gestion des biens, services de gestion du matériel, services de gestion des acquisitions et services de gestion des voyages et autres services administratifs. Les services internes comprennent uniquement les activités et les ressources destinées à l'ensemble d'une organisation et non celles fournies à un programme particulier.

ACQUISITIONS

Activités mises en ouvre dans de but de se procurer les biens et les services requis pour répondre à une demande dûment remplie (y compris une définition complète et précise des exigences et la garantie que les fonds sont disponibles), et ce, jusqu'à la passation ou à la modification d'un marché.

GESTION FINANCIERE

Activités visant à assurer l'utilisation responsable des ressources publiques comme la planification, la gestion budgétaire, la comptabilité, la production de rapports, le contrôle et la surveillance, l'analyse, les conseils et le soutien au processus décisionnel, ainsi que les systèmes financiers.

SERVICES DE GESTION DE L'INFORMATION

Activités visant à assurer une gestion efficiente et efficace de l'information à l'appui de la prestation de programme et de services, à faciliter la prise de décisions éclairées, à faciliter la reddition des comptes, la transparence et la collaboration, ainsi qu'à conserver l'information et les documents pour le bénéfice de la présente génération et des générations futures en veillant à ce qu'ils demeurent accessibles.

SERVICES DE GESTION ET DE SURVEILLANCE

Activités de détermination de l'orientation stratégique, d'affectation des ressources entre les services et les processus et activités liées à l'analyse des risques et à la détermination des mesures d'atténuation à prendre. Elles permettent de veiller à ce que les services et les programmes du gouvernement fédéral respectent les lois, les règlements, les politiques et les plans qui s'appliquent.

SERVICES DE TECHNOLOGIE DE L'INFORMATION

Activités dont le but est d'assurer l'utilisation efficiente et efficace de la technologie de l'information, à l'appui des priorités gouvernementales et de la mise en ouvre des programmes afin d'accroître la productivité et d'améliorer les services offerts au public.

SERVICES DE VOYAGE ET AUTRES SERVICES ADMINISTRATIFS

Ces services comprennent les services de voyages du gouvernement du Canada, ainsi que les autres services internes qui ne correspondent à aucune autre catégorie de services internes.

SERVICES JURIDIQUES

Activités permettant aux ministères et organismes de réaliser les priorités et d'atteindre les objectifs associés à leurs politiques, programmes et services dans un cadre juridique approprié.

Catégories de renseignements personnels

Dans l'exercice des activités de la société, des renseignements personnels qui ne sont pas inclus dans les fichiers de renseignements personnels décrits dans les présentes peuvent avoir été recueillis. Ces renseignements se retrouvent sous forme de fragments dans les dossiers-matières de la société. Ils sont stockés dans les dossiers-matières généraux. Pour les extraire, il est nécessaire de fournir des précisions sur le domaine et l'activité auxquels ils renvoient, la date où ils ont été reçus par la Corporation ainsi que le nom du destinataire.

Les renseignements personnels contenus dans les dossiers-matières sont conservés pendant la même période que les renseignements sur le sujet et ils sont éliminés conformément au calendrier de conservation des dossiers.

Manuels

  • Canada Eldor inc. - Politique et méthodes administratives se rapportant à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Les formalités d'accès en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels sont expliquées dans l'introduction de cette publication.
À noter:  Chaque demande présentée à l'entreprise Canada Eldor inc. en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information doit être accompagnée d'un chèque ou d'un mandat-poste de 5 $ émis à l'ordre de Canada Eldor inc.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur Canada Eldor inc., ses programmes et activités, veuillez communiquer avec la personne suivante :
Coordonnateur de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels
1240, rue Bay, Bureau 302
Toronto (Ontario) M5R 2A7
Ligne directe: (416) 966-0650
Facsimile: (416) 966-5485
Courriel: atip-aiprp@cdev.gc.ca
Internet: http://www.cdiccei.ca/fr/access_info.asp

Salle de lecture

En vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, l'institution possède une salle de lecture publique pour la consultation des documents dans ses bureaux dont l'adresse est la suivante :
Canada Eldor inc.
1240, rue Bay, Bureau 302
Toronto ON M5R 2A7