About CDEV

Overview

The Corporation was established in 1982 under the Canada Business Corporations Act, to manage investments assigned to it and to privatize its holdings when appropriate.

In November 2007, the Minister informed CDEV that "going forward, the operations of the CDEV should reflect a future focused on the ongoing management of its current holdings in a commercial manner, providing assistance to the government in new directions suited to CDEV's capabilities, while maintaining the capacity to divest CDEV's existing holdings, and any other government interests assigned to it for divestiture, upon the direction of the Minister of Finance".

CDEV is a holding company that presently holds the following wholly owned subsidiaries for which it has responsibility: Canada Hibernia Holding Corporation, which owns an 8.5% interest in the Hibernia oilfield; Canada GEN Investment Corporation, which owned the business interests of the Crown in General Motors; and Canada Eldor Inc., which has no operations, but has responsibility for servicing liabilities, chiefly arising from an agreement of purchase and sale with Cameco Inc. entered into in 1988.

In August 2009 the Minister of Finance requested CDEV to participate in the Government's on-going review of corporate asset holdings.

In November 2010, CDEV's Canada GEN subsidiary participated in the initial public offering (IPO) of General Motors stock, disposing of a portion of its holdings.

In July 2011, CDEV sold the entirety of its interest in Chrysler to Fiat S.p.A.

In 2012, the Government of Canada announced that it intends to sell Ridley Terminals Inc. CDEV will serve as the Government's agent to ensure that any sale process in conducted using best commercial practices.

On September 10, 2013 Canada GEN sold 30 million common shares of General Motors that it held, in one of the largest unregistered block trade of shares in the United States for proceeds of approximately US$ 1.1 billion.

The Corporation reports to Parliament through the Minister of Finance.

Portrait de la CDEV

Aperçu

La Corporation a été créée en 1982, en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions, afin de gérer les investissements qui lui sont confiés et de privatiser ses actifs s’il y a lieu.

En novembre 2007, le ministre a informé la CDEV qu’elle « devra dorénavant se forger un avenir axé sur la gestion continue de ses actifs actuels dans une perspective commerciale et prêter son concours au gouvernement dans la recherche de nouvelles orientations qui conviennent à ses capacités, tout en conservant la capacité de se dessaisir de ses actifs actuels et de tout autre placement de l’État, à la demande du ministre des Finances ».

La CDEV est une société en portefeuille qui détient actuellement les filiales en propriété exclusive suivantes, et dont elle a la responsabilité : la Société de gestion Canada Hibernia, qui détient des intérêts de 8,5 % du champ pétrolifère Hibernia ; la Corporation d’investissement GEN du Canada, qui détenait les intérêts commerciaux de l’État chez General Motors ; et Canada Eldor Inc., qui ne réalise aucune opération, mais qui a la responsabilité du passif de gestion découlant principalement d’un accord d’achat et de vente conclu avec Cameco Inc. en 1988.

En août 2009, le ministre des Finances a demandé à la CDEV de participer à l’examen de l’actif effectué par le gouvernement.

En novembre 2010, la Corporation d’investissement GEN du Canada, une filiale de la CDEV, a participé au premier appel public à l’épargne (PAPE) des titres de General Motors, se défaisant d’une part de ses actifs.

En juillet 2011, la CDEV a vendu la totalité de ses intérêts de Chrysler à Fiat S.p.A.

En 2012, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé son intention de vendre la société Ridley Terminals Inc. La CDEV agira comme mandataire du gouvernement et veillera à ce que tout aspect de la vente se déroule selon des pratiques commerciales exemplaires.

Le 10 septembre 2013, la Canada GEN a vendu 30 millions d’actions ordinaires de General Motors qu’elle détenait, lors d’une des plus importantes ventes de bloc d’actions non enregistrée aux États-Unis, ce qui a généré un produit d’environ 1 milliard de dollars US.

La Corporation rend compte au Parlement, par l'intermédiaire du ministre des Finances.