About Access To Information And Privacy

Both the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act came into force on July 1, 1983.

The Access to Information Act gives every Canadian citizen, permanent resident, individual or corporation present in Canada the right to request access to records that are under the control of federal government institutions regardless of their format.

The purpose of the Privacy Act is to protect the privacy of individuals with respect to their personal information and, so, governs the federal government's collection, retention, use and disclosure of that information. It also provides individuals (including those in Canada who are not permanent residents or citizens) with a right of access to their personal information.

Each request submitted under the Access to Information Act must specify which of the following companies the request is to: Canada Development Investment Corporation, Canada Eldor Inc., Canada GEN Investment Corporation or Canada Hibernia Holding Corporation and be accompanied by a $5 application fee (cheque or money order) payable to the company concerned. This application fee entitles you to five hours of search and preparation. However, additional charges may be applied during the course of processing your request. These additional charges may be related to search, preparation, computer processing, photocopying, etc. as identified in the Access to Information Regulations.

Because of the costs associated with the processing of Access to Information Act requests, we strongly advise that you be as specific as possible when describing the records you want so that we may locate and process them as quickly as possible. A cost-effective request is focused on specific records, e.g., a memorandum or a briefing note on a given topic, that was generated within a given time period.

The cost and time of processing a request can be significantly reduced by eliminating some or all of the following records from the ambit of your request:

  • draft documents;
  • duplicates;
  • e-mails;
  • English documents if they exist in a French format or French documents
    if they exist in an English format;
  • documents which originate from another government institution; and
  • portions of documents that have no relevancy to the subject of the request.

There are no fees associated with submitting a request under the Privacy Act.

CONTACT US:  

To send a formal request, mail your Access to Information Request Form (Access to Information Act), along with the $5.00 application fee or Personal Information Request Form (Privacy Act) to the Access to Information and Privacy Coordinator:

1240 Bay Street, Suite 302
Toronto, Ontario M5R 2A7
Direct Line: (416) 966-2264
Fax: (416) 966-5485
Email: atip-aiprp@cdev.gc.ca

Accès à l'information et protection des renseignements personnels

La Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels sont entrées en vigueur le premier juillet 1983.

La Loi sur l’accès à l’information confère à chaque citoyen canadien, résident permanent, personne ou société présent au Canada le droit de demander l’accès à toute information que les institutions gouvernementales fédérales possèdent indépendamment de leur format.

Le but de La loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels est de protéger le droit des personnes à la vie privée en ce qui concerne la collecte, la conservation, l’utilisation et la divulgation de cette information. La loi octroie également aux personnes (y inclus celles au Canada qui ne sont pas des résidents permanents ou des citoyens) le droit d’avoir accès aux renseignements personnels que détient le gouvernement à leur sujet.

Chaque demande formulée en vertu de La loi sur l’accès à l’information doit préciser à quelle société la demande est adressée soit: La Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada, Canada Eldor Inc., la Corporation GEN du Canada ou la Société de gestion Canada Hibernia et doit être accompagnée d’un acompte de $ 5 dollars (les chèques ou mandats sont acceptés) à l’ordre de la société visée. Cet acompte donne accès à cinq heures de recherche et de préparation. Cependant, des frais additionnels peuvent être ajoutés en sus au cours du traitement de votre demande. Ces frais additionnels peuvent être liés à la recherche, la préparation, le traitement informatique, la reproduction, etc. tel que décrit au Règlement sur l’accès à l’information.

Compte tenu des frais associés au traitement des demandes relatives à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, nous vous conseillons fortement d’être le plus précis possible lorsque vous décrirez les dossiers recherchés de façon à ce que nous puissions les identifier et les traiter le plus rapidement possible. Une demande efficace et au meilleur coût est centrée sur des dossiers précis, tel un mémorandum ou une note de service à propos d’un sujet précis qui a été rédigé pendant une période de temps précis.

Le coût et le temps de traitement d’une demande peuvent être réduits de façon importante en éliminant en partie ou en totalité certains des dossiers suivants:

  • des ébauches de documents;
  • des duplicatas;
  • des courriels;
  • des documents en langue anglaise s’ils existent en langue française ou des documents en langue française s’ils existent en langue anglaise;
  • des documents émanant d’une autre institution gouvernementale;
  • des parties de documents qui ne sont pas pertinents au sujet de la demande.

Il n’y a pas de frais pour les demandes en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

COMMUNIQUEZ AVEC NOUS:

Pour soumettre une demande officielle, acheminez votre formulaire d’accès à l’information (Loi sur l’accès à l’information) accompagné d’un acompte de $ 5.00 ou votre formulaire de demande d’accès à des renseignements personnels (Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels) au Coordonnateur de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels :

1240, rue Bay, Bureau 302
Toronto, Ontario M5R 2A7
Ligne directe: (416) 966-2264
Télécopieur: (416) 966-5485
Courriel:  atip-aiprp@cdev.gc.ca